East Central/American Society for Eighteenth Century Studies

The Leland D. Peterson Award
In Recognition of Years of Participation and Service

But the mind never unbends itself so agreeably as in the conversation of a well-chosen friend. There is indeed no blessing of life that is any way comparable to the enjoyment of a discreet and virtuous friend. It eases and unloads the mind, clears and improves the understanding, engenders thoughts and knowledge, animates virtue and good resolutions, soothes and allays the passions, and finds employment for most of the vacant hours of life. (Addison)

EC/ASECS Leland Peterson Award Winners

1995-Leland D. Peterson
1996-Helen Louise McGuffie, Mary Margaret Stewart
1997-Van Baker, Theodore E. D. Braun
1998-Donald C. Mell, Jr.
1999-Calhoun Winton
2000-James E. May
2001-Joan Stemmler
2002-John Radner
2003-Linda E. Merians
2004-Marie McAllister
​2005-Peter Perreten
2008-Peter Staffel, Linda Troost
2009-Kevin J. Berland
​2010-Brijraj Singh
2011-Laura Kennelly, Robert Mayerovitch
2015 - Ellen Moody
2016 - Geoffrey Sill
2019 - Eleanor Shevlin

​L'amitié est le seul mouvement de l'âme où l'excès soit permis. (Voltaire)